Feedback / Suggestions

District Police History

      During the time of Rajas of Halery dynasty, the enforcement of customary practices did not require any complicated system of Police in Kodagu.  There was no organized Police. The peons at the different government offices and guard houses performed all the duties of the Police. Like the Nayars of Malabar, each farmer was a soldier performing Police duties. They consisted of Sarvakaryagar, Kariyagar, Subedar and Jamedar.


      When the British took over Coorg (Kodagu) in 1834, the old pattern of Police administration in that principality was continued. 40 years after the annexation, in the towns of Madikeri and Virajpet, there was a small body of what may be termed regular police consisting of 26 men for both the towns including Daffedars and peons. The Rural Police or village Police force was under Subedars, Parpathigars and Patels.


      On 30th August 1834, the Chief Commissioner of Coorg  Lieut Col. J.S.Fraser issued rules for the conduct of the district functionaries in Coorg which was suppressed by the introduction of Indian Penal Code in 1861 and Criminal Procedure Code in 1862.


       In the later years, the Chief Commissioner of Coorg was the ex-officio Inspector General of Police. The actual Police force was in charge of a European Assistant Superintendent of Police borne on the Madras government cadre. Captain C.F. Lee Hardy was the first Superintendent of Coorg assuming the charge on 2nd September 1834.  Later on 2nd January 1922, the post of ASP was Indianised. In 1924, a DySP was posted to look after the Police department. The District Magistrate of the Coorg was appointed as ex officio District Superintendent of Police.


      In 1934, the post of DySP was upgraded to that of the District Superintendent of Police. In 1954, again the post of DySP was created. Coorg district was divided into three Police Circles viz, Mercara, Virajpet and Somawarpet. The circles were further divided into 10 Police stations and 13 Outposts. Other than this, DAR, Special Branch, District Intelligence bureau were functioning.


      Presently in Kodagu District, 3 Police sub divisions, 7 Circles, 20 Police Stations, 17 outposts, District Special Branch, District Crime Records Bureau, District Crime Intelligence Branch, District Police Computer Wing, DAR, Police Wireless Wing, Police Dog Squad are functioning.

Last Updated: 22-10-2020 02:04 PM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2022, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080